Sonnets, No Soup & ‘Shingles’ (A Poem)!

Mona_Wendy

Mona and I mucking about with Snap chat.

Hi everyone,

I think you can probably tell I am feeling very inspired by tonight’s Sonnets, No Soup event at the Vic Park Arts Centre. I guess it would be fair to say that the turnout wasn’t as good as hoped, and yet I can’t help but feel that those who couldn’t make it really missed out. We had a wonderful night of poetry, conversation, and ‘Delta blues’ music (and poetry / other music) by Brad Brittain.

Getting back to Sonnets no soup. Yes, this is how it was spelt. I couldn’t bring myself not to add the comma in the title. What a little grammar Nazi I have become after 6 years at uni! Ok, I am drifting… I am distracted (you will find out why at the end, if you didn’t figure it out from the title).

The event was held at the Vic Park Arts Centre, a lovely old house on Kent Street.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first thing I noticed as I walked through the door was that the Creative Connections art exhibition was still up. It was a chance for me to see my poem next to the artwork that inspired it. The art is all by artists with complex needs, and each piece is showcased with poetry. It really did look marvellous. I loved ‘Whirlwind of Love’ by Mike Greenacre, and another poem called ‘Aladdin’ (I forgot to note the poets name, but I do think it was my favourite poem on the walls). There were a few poets I knew, who also wrote wonderful poems. The art was very good. I think all the artists should be very proud of their masterpieces.

Wendy Beach with her Poem ‘The Man at the Piano’ and artists work.

Some of the Creative Connections Artworks.

The event was called, Sonnets no soup, because last year they had a Soup & Sonnets night. This year, with a decrease in Arts Grants they couldn’t afford the ‘soup’ (I think, or at least the catering)… but wow they did put on an excellent prosciutto, cheese, and fruit platter. And along with the coffee and wine, I think everyone was pleased. by the spread.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Slideshow of Poets at the event

I was so inspired by Brad’s description of the stylistic form of Delta Blues music, that I decided I would try to learn how to write it, to form–which he described to me in great detail.

Last few moments of Brad doing his Delta Blues song.

Later, after singing the blues all the way home, I promptly threw everything Brad had said to the wind, and wrote what came to mind. Okay, I did remember that a good starting line is “I woke up this morning…”. So, yes, I am having my first bought of shingles *sad face*. I did manage to cover up most of the spots with clothing and makeup. But it is now 1.40am and I am up putting salve on my face, ear, and side. I guess it comes in waves 😦 For those of you who don’t know what shingles are, it is an adult form of chicken pox (same virus). I am trying not to scratch, the marks from my childhood are still upon my flesh and don’t need to be added to *very sad face* (starts singing… ‘I’ve got the shingles blues…’

Shingles Blues

Well I woke up this morning, itching head to toe
Thought I’d go to work, but ended up a no show
So, I went to the doctor, to see what he’d say.
He said, “Miss you’ve got shingles, so no work today!”

I’ve got the Shingles blues, can’t do a dog gone thing
I’ve got the Shingles blues, I’m gonna stay at home.

Well I’m gonna call in sick, feet up, and stay home.
Gonna call in sick today, salved from head to toe.

I’ve got two poetry performances this week
And I just have to go. Yeah, I can’t be a no show.

He said, “Not contagious, but you’ll itch all over.”
He said, “Not contagious, just put salve all over.”

I’ve got the shingle blues, it itches head to toe.
God knows, yeah God knows, it itches from head to toe.

I call up work, and said, “I can’t come in today.”
I called work to say “At home I’d better stay.”

After a sleep, I woke itching all over,
Dropped my meds with a coffee, and took a cold shower.

Applied salve real thick, I’ll be doing this all week.
All week I’m gonna itch, sometimes life is a bitch.

I went out this evening, itching from head to toe.
To my poetry performance, I had to go.

He said, “It’s not contagious.” And I had to show.
He said, “It’s not contagious.” So I did the show.

It itched like a bitch, but I didn’t let them know.
Oh God, O God knows, that I itch from head to toe!

c. Wendy Beach, 2017.

DSCN0239

Happy Easter everyone. I hope you have a wonderful and safe long weekend. If you are in Perth, please come along to the 2017 Vic Park SLAM! I look forward to seeing you there…mind the spots!

2017_Vic_Park_SLAM2

Leave a Reply

